Woohoo! First post at the new digs!

Good morning, dear friends!  I’m glad you managed to find me here.  I’ve been remiss in blogging lately.  The month of January has just been FULL.  I had pneumonia to end the twelve days of Christmas, and then there have been complications from my transfer to a new job at work – having to finish this month’s work really quickly so that I could train my replacement, and while I was trying to finish it earlier than usual, also having to document the procedure as I went, so that my replacement would have a reference – traveling for work for a few days, starting to get my home-based business off the ground (it’s real now, because I have a tax id number from the IRS), moving this blog, bidding farewell to Angel the Half-Blind Hedgehog Extraordinaire, and oh yeah, buying a house.

Well, that’s not set in stone YET… I made an offer on a house yesterday, and we’re hoping to hear back tonight.  It’s been on the market since September, so I asked for a little more than I might have otherwise, figuring they can’t afford to reject the offer out of hand and would be more likely to make a counter-offer.   But this will be the house that my fiance and I make our home.  It’s got a formal living room that will be a music studio – I could hear my love’s breathing stop when I told him the room was large enough for a baby grand.  I think he’s already been shopping on the Yamaha site.  So anyway, if I hear back tonight, then on February 29, I should be a homeowner again.  My mortgage is already approved, so really, only the home inspection and the appraisal can cause issues, once my offer is accepted.

And those of you who’ve been with me since near the beginning of this blog – if you had told me one year ago that by this time, I’d be separated from my husband for seven months now, engaged to someone I met online (ten years ago, but still!), singing in the church choir, composing music again for the first time in more than 15 years, planning to move for the second time since June, writing poetry, starting a small business, preparing a discussion series on creativity and spirituality, and putting an offer on a house that will be the home for me and a man I hadn’t even met face-to-face yet… well, I’d ask for some of what you’d been smoking!  But I am profoundly grateful to be here, and my friends in the blogosphere and in other internet communities (you know who you are!) have played a big part in helping me see myself for who I am rather than for the distorted reflection I’d come to accept.

The last year has been an amazing journey.  It hasn’t always been fun – journeys never are – but it has been incredibly fruitful.  I am looking forward to the next leg of my journey, preparing for marriage with the kind of man I’d never expected to meet: the kind who will be a partner.   I still have work to do to close out the last leg of my journey, before I’m ready to embark on that new partnership, that new life together.  But it is good.  God is good.  God is with us, and God loves us more than we can ever imagine.

Be at peace, my dear friends, and know that I’m thinking about you and praying for you, even when the busyness sweeps me away from reading and commenting on your blogs.

2 thoughts on “Woohoo! First post at the new digs!

Comments are closed.