What a morning!

So it was yet another morning of waking at about 1:30am.  Since today is Saturday – and I didn’t have to get up at 6 to drive to work – I took a dose of my painkiller to get me through the night without my hands hurting like the devil, and then tried to go back to sleep.  Around 5:00, I gave up on that, and having a hankering for pancakes, I decided to get up and make some.  I took my bisquick mix, mixed it up by the directions, and then added about a teaspoon of orange peel, a half-teaspoon of vanilla, and a bunch of mashed up (’cause it hurts to chop them!) pecans.  They came out YUMMY, and were so wonderfully thick and cakey that I could only eat two of them.

Meanwhile I sorted out my pills for the week.  Not counting the painkillers, I now take 11 pills in the morning and 9 in the evening.  They include flaxseed oil, vitamin C, calcium with vitamin D, a multi-mineral (but without iron, because the body doesn’t absorb iron if you take it with other minerals), a vitamin B complex, vitamin K, iron, glucosamine/chondroitin/MSM, and cinnamon.  Yeah, it’s a lot of stuff, but multivitamin pills don’t do much more than give you bright yellow, very expensive pee.

(Hee hee – I said PEE!  🙂 )

Then I got online at around 6-ish and responded to some emails from my boss, and I called maplestar, who wakes up even more insanely early than I do.  After about an hour of that, I prayed the morning office.  I pray the offices at the piano, because I try to sing at least one of the canticles, and I sing the psalms from my Anglican Chant Psalter.  Apocryphally, St. Francis of Asisi said that when you sing, you pray twice, and I’ve always found this to be true.  My little conure, Trillian, accompanies me into the music studio, and I put her on her window-perch, so that she can chirp and talk and sing along with me while she watches the sun rise and the outside-birdies at play.  Of course, in the midst of the pain and the busy-ness and the blah-feelings I’ve been experiencing, the lectionary for the daily offices this week began readings from… the Book of Job.  Yeah, ’cause THAT’S what I needed right now!  When I was a teenager, and everything in life was huge and earthshaking and dramatic (yeah, you know you were that way, too, so don’t pretend you don’t know what I mean), I remembered being absolutely sure that there was some demi-deity or angel or spirit that was in charge of radio programming, so that the song you most needed (or LEAST needed) was guaranteed to come on the radio.  Well, that same being is very clearly in charge of the lectionary.  Dangit.

(Yes, I’m being a bit silly there.  It’s okay.  I do that sometimes.)

So then… maplestar and I got back on the phone, and got online together, for our first lecture of Hebrew I.   (Gulp!)  The first chapter covers the 23 Hebrew consonants, the aleph bet.  And before we watch and listen to the second lecture next week, we need to memorize the letters – their names, their pronunciations, the variations, and how to write them (right-to-left, of course).  (GULP!)  So we’re a little bit freaked out right now, but are also beginning to learn from this song and some other tools we’ve found.  I think it’s going to be a lot of fun to learn this together, but yeah, it’s kind of scary at first.

I got the good news as I was driving home yesterday that my management chain (and human resources, too) has approved my application to work from home.  So starting sometime next week, I’ll be moving everything from my desk home with me, setting up my desk here, and working here.  Where my munchkin-desk-at-home is set up, I can look up and see the neighbor’s house, the top of a couple of trees, and the sky.  It’s a pretty and inspiring view, and Trillian loves to sit here on her window perch while I work.  I’m going to set up my non-munchkin-desk here as my “going to seminary” desk, complete with an aleph bet poster on the wall above it, so that when I move to my personal computer and my personal desk, I feel like I’m in a different place.  I know it might sound weird, but I need to compartmentalize parts of my life explicitly and physically.  I could never do homework at home, but did much better working on it in the library or the computer lab at school.  I can never work out at home, but do a better job if I actually go to the gym.  So… compartmentalization.  This desk: work.  That desk: study.  I know myself well enough to do that!

In about an hour, I’m heading over to my parents’ house to help them with their first at-home jewelry show.  They make handcrafted jewelry, specializing in Celtic designs, and usually sell at Celtic festivals and Ren faires.  Mom has named the company Pixie Treasures, and she’s really excited about this show.  She invited friends, neighbors, coworkers, folks from church – people from all over – and is really hoping to have a good turnout.  I know it’s as much to show all her hard work as to try to sell some of it, and we’re all excited.

So, yeah.  By the time it’s noon, I’ll already have had a pretty full day!  And tonight or tomorrow, I’ll start practicing writing my aleph bet on manuscript paper, like a five-year-old in Hebrew school.  (Does it sound too geeky to say, I can’t wait!?)

Peace and blessings to you today!

