A measure of my own geekiness

I was driving home, after dropping the kids off for their volunteer job, and was on the phone with maplestar.  And he asked me, “If I say, replace A with B, then which one was there first?”

I thought for a moment, and then said, “I don’t have enough information to answer.”

Poor maplestar was baffled.  I’d answered as if this was a logic puzzle kind of question, and he just wanted to be sure he was using the Search and Replace feature in his editor properly.  After he got the answer he’d wanted – the part before the with – I explained why just because you tell somebody to replace A with B, it doesn’t mean that A actually exists, though most people would expect it to.   Of course, this is why software developers have to study logic, so that we know how to deal with the assumptions and expectations of “most people” on behalf of the computer, which doesn’t have any assumptions or expectations at all.

So yes.  I’m a geek.  I’m sure you’re COMPLETELY shocked by this revelation.

We will now return you to the programming that is already in progress.

2 thoughts on “A measure of my own geekiness

  1. 😀 I love you, too, Kate!

    BTW, with the new kittenpants, my daughter and I have had lots and lots of little scratchies. The Scratch and Dent Salve is INCREDIBLE for healing them. They disapper so quickly, I’ve been amazed.

    Like

Comments are closed.