blessing, a poem

Blessing

Let your life be amen
Let your days be a prayer
Let your actions speak kindness
Let your mind think of peace.

Let your life be amen
Let you know you’re belov’d
Let your heart brim with love
Let it spill all around.

Let your life be amen
Let your work give you meaning
Let your nights bring you rest
Let your spirit sing thanks.

Let your life be amen
Let your bible be open
Let Creation instruct you
Let you learn every day.

Shall we Gather at the River, from the Beattie Road Church of Christ blog

Let your life be amen
Let you die under water
Let you feel the sweet chrism
Let you shine with Christ’s light.

Let your life be amen
Let your days be a prayer
Let your actions speak blessing
Let each breath be of God.


 

This was born as I read the first chapter of The Path of Centering Prayer, by David Frenette, in which he gives the following counsel to one who might ask for advice on contemplative prayer:

Practice the meaning of one word: amen. If you asked me how you could meditate, how you should relate to God, how you might pray, I would whisper, “Amen.” If I remember one simple thing at the end of my own life, I hope it will be amen.

Frenette continues by giving the meaning of the word – so let it be – and defining amen as giving consent to God, consenting for God to speak to us and to work in our life. I got a couple pages further in my reading before I had to stop and quickly sketch out this poem… while sitting in my psychiatrist’s waiting room.  Creativity is ever urgent, and beauty calls her name.

