the rosary

Rosary, by Lawrence OP

Rosary, by Lawrence OP

Last year, during the last fourteen days of Lent, I blogged reflections on the fourteen Stations of the Cross.  This was my devotional practice, to really immerse myself in the drama and passion of Holy Week.  Because my Lent during 2010 has been so filled with its own drama, I realized that these last fourteen days are already upon us.  I wanted to take on a similar devotional practice, but didn’t want to write on the Stations again.  Instead, I decided to reflect on the mysteries of the rosary.

Of course, it is amusing to talk about the rosary, as if there were only one.  But for the purpose of this devotion, I’m working with the traditional Dominican rosary (five decades, using the Our Father and the Hail Mary as the primary prayers), though I’ve tweaked the mysteries to include only events that are documented in the canon of scripture.  By no means am I a sola scriptura person — I’m far closer to the postmodernists — but I am more comfortable with the mysteries that I can find in the bible.

I will fill out this page more in the future, but for now, I’ll list the fifteen mysteries of the rosary for reflection, and will link to the devotional reflections as each is written.

Our Lady gives the Rosary to St Dominic, by Lawrence OP

Our Lady gives the Rosary to St Dominic, by Lawrence OP

The Glorious Mysteries

I’m starting with the Glorious Mysteries, because I want to end with the Sorrowful Mysteries on Good Friday and Holy Saturday.   Traditionally, the Glorious Mysteries are prayed on Wednesdays, Saturdays, and on Sundays during the season of Easter and in Ordinary Time.

  1. The Transfiguration (Mark 9:2-8)
  2. The Last Supper (1 Corinthians 11:23-26)
  3. The Resurrection (John 20:1-18)
  4. The Ascension (Acts 1:3b-10)
  5. The coming of the Holy Spirit at Pentecost (Acts 2:1-41)

The Joyful Mysteries

Rosary, by kotomigd

Rosary, by kotomigd

The Joyful Mysteries are traditionally prayed on Mondays, Thursdays, and the Sundays in the seasons of Advent, Christmas, and the season after the Epiphany.

  1. The Annunciation (Luke 1:26-38)
  2. The Visitation (Luke 1:39-56)
  3. The Nativity (Matthew 1:18-2)
  4. The Presentation in the Temple (Luke 2:22-40)
  5. Finding Jesus in the Temple in Jerusalem (Luke 2:42-51)
Shield of Our Lady of the Rosary, by Lawrence OP

Shield of Our Lady of the Rosary, by Lawrence OP

The Sorrowful Mysteries

The Sorrowful Mysteries are traditionally prayed on Tuesdays, Fridays, and the Sundays in Lent.

  1. The agony in the garden (Matthew 26: 30-46)
  2. The scourging at the pillar (John 18:28-19:1)
  3. The crowning with thorns (Mark 15:16-18)
  4. The carrying of the cross (Luke 23:26-27)
  5. The crucifixion (Luke 23:33-49)


join the conversation

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s